Nowadays,not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In many nations, there is not many students who choose to study science in third level education. This essay will discuss the possible problem and its adverse ramifications on society.

There are various reasons why fewer youth are choosing science as their major. To begin with, these subjects are difficult and also demands more thinking ability, which requires learners to put lot of effort into their assignments. For instance, as per the survey conducted by U.K. University in 2011, 74% of science students needed stress management to cope up with their studies. As a result, only few students seem to be attracted towards this course. Additionally, as there are currently less employment opportunities available for graduates in this domain, namely engineers and doctors. They are less likely to decide to select as majors, instead they tend to select other areas which allows them to search jobs more easily.

Downfall of pupils in science field can impose in some negative impacts. The first one is that there would be scarcity of students in this area, which would lead to storage of employees working in this sector. Leading to fewer technological advancements which would prevent improvements in people's life. For example, The Times newspaper issued one article based on the statistics showing that most of the teenagers are opting out of science, eventhough they were academically excellent, which can led to major shortfall in the advancement of technology. The second one is the number of students opting for other subjects, such as economics and commerce, would rise exponentially, resulting in scarcity of job vacancies in these areas. Therefore, after completing tertiary education many face unemployment, which has increased burden on the society.

To conclude, shortage of adolescence choosing science subject is caused mainly because of the fear they are having for the subject as well as because of the unemployment rate and this would tremendously impact the futuristic society.