Older people usually think that life used to be better in the past. Do you think they are right or wrong to think like that?

The elderly people believe that life in their times was more prosperous than today. In my opinion, life in the past was not easy because it had various limitations regarding technological barriers and social backwardness in old times.

To commence with, the first and foremost challenge in old times was technological barriers. This leads to difficulty in accessibility and communication among the people. Consequently, the lack of advancement in technology people could not make social relationships easily as compared to today’s scenario, where a public connection can be developed in a short time. For example the internet is an invention of modern times which can assist an individual with an individual from one location to another location in a short period of time through numerous social applications. This technological advancement could make modern time better than the time of our grandparents.

Furthermore, in the older times the social orthodox culture was deep-rooted in the ideology of the people. These old values could not have respect for women rights and restrain the freedom of women. For instance, some social practices were prevalent in old times such as the dowry system, the parada system and no voting rights for women as a result the woman had excluded from the equal status among men.

Overall, I firmly believe that the contemporary era is more prosperous in terms of accessibility and freedom of the women. While these benefits are lagged in the older times due to lack of technology and an equal position of the woman which was deprived by the social evils.