Ordinary people try to copy famous personalities by seeing them on TV or reading about them in the newspapers.

What is the reason for this?

Is it a good idea to copy famous personalities?

Ordinary people impersonate their idols after watching them on TV or reading about them on papers. They believe that these personalities are an epitome of success and excellence what they desire for themselves. I think it's a good idea to emulate their lifestyle or habits to ameliorate oneself but not to a level of obsession.

People have been nurturing some desires for a long time which they see being accomplished by their idols, therefore they want to imitate them. To give you a clear example, people always desire chiselled body with washboard abs and when their icons flaunt one; they follow regimes of those figures. Witnessing the exciting and interesting life of these people revives not only an already wanting desire but also new hopes for their own life. They aspire a perfect life portrayed by their heroes.

The motivation that inculcates by the observation of the life of these personalities is tremendously intoxicating. In my opinion, this strengthens the self-confidence of people to pursue their goal. People start putting an effort as they can envision their plan, for instance, they take up gym earnestly to get those six packs abs. However, it can be demoralizing as results are not always at par with their expectations. This could lead to severe depression and in fact, make them doubt their abilities and push them down the road of inferiority complex. On the other hand, some might make it an obsession and wear them out to the extent of no return. In either case, caution is advised.

In conclusion, if people understand that they don't fixate to their role-models transformation examples, instead work persistently towards their goal, they will succeed in their dreams too. They should pick a leaf out of these personas lifestyle but only by being aware of their limitations and the difference in settings.