Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Urbanisation, which started from the industrial revolution, has become prevalent all around the world paving the way to numerous issues. Abundance of job opportunities and availability of facilities in urban areas has attracted rural people creating overpopulation. In order to curtail this migration, rural development and enhancements in transportation must be put in to action immediately.

Ample job opportunities available in urban areas has caused people to come and take accommodation in urban areas. More and more buildings, factories, companies are being established in town areas where there are more civilians. In fact, government support and focus are also on town areas exacerbating the problem. For an example, in Sri Lanka, most of the factories and companies are found in the Western Province especially in Colombo district and more and more people are moving to this province in search of employment. Furthermore, most of the facilities related to health, education, transportation also located mainly in urban areas. Humans who naturally have the desire to spend a better life are attracted by these instigating overpopulation in town areas.

Taking immediate and permanent actions to curb this urbanisation is a necessity. First and foremost, developments in rural areas must be carried out. In other words, concerted efforts by governments and businessmen should be put into action to upgrade the facilities in rural areas. Industrial zones, factories, schools, companies should be moved more and more into rural areas so that people will avoid migrating to urban places. Moreover, upgraded transportation can be considered as another solution which will provide a solution to this problem. Once the transportation is developed, it will enable people to travel more efficiently and effectively to their work places, schools etc directly from their homes situated in rural areas.

To recapitulate, overpopulation in urban areas has created significant issues around the globe which occurred due to job opportunities and availability of facilities. By improving the infrastructure in rural areas and transportation facilities would tackle this problem making the life of future generations easy.