People are becoming too dependent on the internet and phone.Is it a positive or negative development?

Recent years, there is a wide spread phenomenon that general population are overly relying on electronic devices. I strongly believe its drawbacks outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand,there are multiple reasons why I think the fact that the general public indulges in modern communications will generate harmful impacts to them. Firstly, many individuals have already were accustomed of using telecommunications which lead them to adopt a sedentary life style. This kind of living pattern will have a detrimental effect to them both mentally and physically. For example, it was reported in china, more than 70 percent of younger generations choose to surf the internet at home after work, and this trend has kept growing. Some of them were diagnosed with severe depression because of this trend.

Secondly, people who have low self-control might become addictive with these technologies which could prevent them from focusing on their works and studies. Videos and games on the internet and smartphones are always designed with intriguing contents, tempting people to spend vast amount of hours on them. As a result, students and working classes might be distracted by them from their social obligations

On the other hand, the commonly adoption of internet and telephone certainly brought much conveniences to our societies. With their help,People no longer need to spend their time on commuting when they try to send a message to someone far away. These equipment could boosting working classes’ efficiency dramatically. For example, when a chief executive officer is travelling oversea, he can check and respond his email on his laptop using internet whenever and wherever he want without worrying about postpone his working schedule.

In conclusion, even though it seems sensible for general citizens to adopt the modern technologies, I think they still should limit their frequencies of using them.