People are less fit and active nowadays than in the past, what are the reasons for this? What do you think can be done for it?

The number of physically unfit people and patients is aggressively increasing whereas people in the past used to be more energetic and fit. The key factors behind this upsetting trend is unawareness and unhealthy lifestyle to survive in socially competitive society. In my opinion, general awareness about the significance of exercise and free physical training facilities can effectively control the numbers.

There are several reasons for the ignorance towards health. One such is the blind race for money to establish social dominance in the society, which is one of the majors. Unfortunately, a person with a lot of money is considered as more successful than a physical healthy person, which is a real wealth. Furthermore, there has been excessive dependency on technology, which offers everything at doorstep, and consumption of fast food has made people lethargic and obese. For instance, most of the youths spend their time in front of computers while eating unhealthy food. Thus, it is really our lifestyle to blame for our unfitness.

The most effective and efficient solution is to teach younger generation about the importance of health and how to maintain it. Authorities can run general awareness campaign on the internet and TV, to encourage people towards healthy lifestyle and serious consequence of negligence in the long run. For example, India successfully reduces the number of people at hospitals by constant TV advertisements. Furthermore, as precaution is better than cure, a part of health care budget can be allocated to set up fitness centers. Thus, people will participate more when they notice the efforts by their leaders.

In Conclusion, unawareness and excessive reliance on technology as well as fast food is the key reason behind increasing number of unfit and inactive people. It can be effectively suppressed by proper physical education and governments initiatives to construct more fitness centers.