People are less fit and active nowadays than in the past, what are the reasons for this? What do you think can be done for it?

It is certainly true that individuals tend to be less healthy and inactive nowadays in modern society when compared to the past. There are several reasons for this problem, and various measures can be taken by the government to improve the situation.

People’s unhealthiness and inactivity nowadays may be caused by a variety of factors, and I believe the most striking factor is the advancement of technology. Firstly, the Internet allows people to work as well as keep in touch with their families or friends without the need to go outside. Secondly, with the invention of transportation systems, people’s walking time has been drastically reduced. These technologies allow people to stay sedentary, and this have made people become less fit. What’s more, the change of food intake also deserves a mention. Compared to the past when our ancestors could only eat healthily cooked foods, nowadays most people choose to eat convenient food such as prepacked lunch box, canned food to save time and money. Such food containing high calories not only increases the possibility of gaining weight, but raises the chance of getting chronic diseases.

In fact, the best way to alleviate this problem would be to raise awareness among the public. I think the government should organize physical active campaigns and promote the problems of staying inactive. For example, government may arrange a work-life balance week and encourage citizens to put down the works and to do exercises instead. In addition, government should also levy laws to force food manufacturers to put nutrient food labels on all the foods. By doing this, individuals can compare and pick some healthier foods to eat.

In conclusion, government should tackle the issue of overall decline in people’s health by introducing relevant campaigns and laws. If these measures are taken, it is believed that the awareness of being healthy can be raised among the citizens, and in the long run, people’s physical condition will be improved in foreseeable future.