People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Do the benefits of this outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advancements in information technology, access to global languages by every individual has become possible. This is because individuals tend to use internet translators for text conversion with minimal efforts. This development has plethora of advantages as well as drawbacks. The essay will scrutinize both the aspects before venturing a logical conclusion.

A major benefit is lesser communication barriers, which is achieved by quick conversion into one's own language while conversing with people worldwide. Thus, it is no longer necessary to know other persons' dialect in order to understand their views. Another merit contributes to accessibility to the literature of other countries to the ones who are fond of reading texts of different cultures. Though famous books of many nations are easily available in different vernaculars, some are only available in their original form. Therefore, internet can be of great help for such readers to translate those texts into their native languages. Greece for example has different mythological books written in Greek which fascinate the bibliophiles, and can be read easily with the help of Google Translate.

Despite myriads of merits, there are few demerits too. Reliability on Internet translators is promoting masses to prefer online conversion rather than learning new languages, due to which verbal communication is affected. Moreover, there is a possibility of errors while translating online which ultimately impacts the originality of classics. This is due to the fact, the main idea is not conveyed as it is supposed to be, rather manipulated to a different approach. For instance, the sacred book of Bhagwat Gita is originally written in Sanskrit is a masterpiece but its conversions in other languages are not as good.

To encapsulate, internet translators are a virtue for humans if they are used wisely, otherwise this habit negatively affects the diversity of oral communication. There is no comparison between a person who is multilingual and the ones who just translate with the help of applications. However, easy worldwide connections cannot be ignored, which have been made possible only through these softwares. Although there are some drawbacks, its merits definitely have an edge.