People spend large amounts of time and money on clothes, hairstyles and make up to change their appearance.

Is it important for people to be concerned about the way they look? What are the consequences of focussing on physical appearance?

Fashion has been a part of people’s life for very a long time. Most of the time, it needs some money to get the right mix and matches for one’s preference. Some people believe that it is a waste to spend on appearance, and people should focus more on person’s value. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of the spending on external look.

Fashion is a way to express oneself into a form of appearance. It is a personal right to do whatever a person want on one’s own body. Buying a new set of clothes could make the buyer feel refreshed. Changing to hairstyle could result in relaxing. Wearing the right make up could result in confidence. Furthermore, appearance also plays an important part in job related communication such as an interview, or dealing with clients. Therefore, it is undeniable that improving appearance might be considered as an investment.

In contrast, fashion costs a money. High-end brands usually cost five to ten times more expensive than the average market. Spending too much money without a good source of income could severely damage a cash flow. In addition, a kid should not spend lot of money with this if it comes from parent’s wallet. On the other hand, focusing on appearance without considering the actual value could cause a problem later. For example, an applicant who passes an interview because of appearance might not perform well at work, a deal that is closed because of a salesperson appearance might not work as expected.

Despite the fact that appearance costs some amount of money, I think that appearance as a way to express personal feeling is good and causes no harm if money is spend with caution. However, focusing on appearance and overlooking the other values should be avoided.