People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out.

What are the causes?

What solutions can you suggest?

In this modern time, the security of people has become a serious concern as many people feel unsafe at home and in public places. The main reason for this insecurity is the surge in criminal activities by unemployed youngsters and one key solution to this problem is the generation of employment opportunities by the government.

To begin with, an increase in the involvement of many young people in criminal offences is responsible for making people insecure at every place. The reason for this is most of the youngsters remain unemployed even after qualifying for higher degrees which makes harder for them to earn bread and butter for their families. As a consequence, they tread on a wrong path to earn money and usually threaten the general public by snatching their money, mobile phones and gold ornaments. For instance, according to a survey by the 'Time' in India, there has been a 40% increase in criminal activities by young people with no job in hand for the last 5 years. Thus, this creates a fear among the people due to which they feel unsafe.

To combat this overindulgence of young generation in delinquencies, the government should generate various job opportunities. With the increase in the number of jobs in diverse sectors such as mechanical, electrical, computer, chemical and engineer, the youngsters will get specified work in accordance with their qualification, as a result, they will not perform any unethical actions to earn money. To exemplify, in Chandigarh a state in Punjab, by introducing ample jobs by authorities in areas of information technology for the graduates a 60% decline in the crime rate has been observed since last 2 years in that area. Therefore, if the government provides employment to the degree holders, then the crime rate will definitely decrease and this world will become a safe place to live in.

In conclusion, people feel less safe today as a result of increased offences by unemployed youth. To remedy this problem, the government should create more employment for them.