At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Many countries are going through phases where balance between young and old residents are out of balance. If country population is ageing, I firmly believe that this is a starting point of a big problem. Therefore if countries have more younger people than older I am certain that it will outweigh disadvantages.

Firstly, well functional society needs young and healthy individuals to fill different areas of economy. For example different positions in farming industry. At the time when I wast in the best years of my life, I did candidate for forklift driving position in farming industry. First thing what they asked was my age. Why is age so important? Because staff members had to work long shift hours and same time remain razor sharp until to next shift. Persons who were over 40 years old could’t fit for night shifts because of different hazards which will come with ageing, like longer reaction time.

Secondly, country with young population have less problems with finances. If most of people in country are retired then who will make money for them to pay out pensions. A good illustration of this is current situation in Japan. Over half of a population is suitable for the retirement. Nevertheless most of them are still working. Moreover, Japan with the high level of pensionary workers is among highest in the world. Country won’t have enough money to pay out pensions for old people. There is not enough younger workers who would pay taxes and support retired citizens.

Taking everything into consideration, it is clearly understood that countries with larger number of young people are more beneficial to economy. Every healthy and functional society needs young and sharp minds to fill different working positions. Without young generation many countries are struggling.