Prevention is better than cure."

Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

"Prevention is better than cure", a saying that everyone agrees with, yet no one actually follows. People from diverse communities tend to think that prevention would cost money, which is somehow true, however, it is not wasted money as they think. As a matter of fact, treatment will cost even more money and time and not to mention effort.

The main reason for most people's thought, originates from the lack of knowledge, to be specific absence of proper health education. I strongly believe that health education is one of the most important roles of governments. A large proportion out of a country's health budget, should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. Immense amount of money is spent on building hospitals and refurbishing it with the latest equipment, in addition to drug industry. However, if the same amount is spent on developing multiple health education programs, directed to people of different ages, not only children at schools, that would have eventually decreased the rate of sicknesses and epidemic diseases.

As an example, people usually ignore visiting the dentist for teeth check-up. A survey made by a group of dentists in my neighborhood, showed that ninety percent of people avoided walking in a dental clinic except when they felt a severe toothache. Various reasons lied behind this, mainly fear of pain and money-wise. Although it costs even more to treat than to prevent, but still people would not believe it. The dentists concluded that the actual reason was the lack of knowledge and absence of oral health education. They created a simple educational video about proper oral hygiene measures, and that visiting a dentist every six months, is one of those measures. The video was played on a large screen in the main park every Saturday and Sunday. After the first week, the rate of people visiting dentists for dental check-up, increased by sixty percent.

Based on that experiment, a large proportion out of every country's health budget, should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures in all fields.