The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this.

To what extent do you agree?

There is a famous saying "prevention is better than cure", and certainly this holds true. There is a general opinion that the ruling administration should allocate a part of their budget preferably to avert the diseases rather than on their medication and cure, and I am in complete consensus to the above view.

The foremost benefit of investing in forestalling of health related illnesses is that it leads to the building up of a healthy nation, since when focus is on preventing health issues, the actions are towards developing healthy habits, which leads to the better immunity of individuals and ultimately a fit nation. It can be justified with the example of swatch bharat mission in which people are promoted and assisted in developing toilets which ultimately helps in protecting people against diseases like diarrhoea, infections etc. and even promoting a clean vicinity and ultimately developing a healthy society..

Investing in prevention of diseases also saves a lot of money as huge cost is involved in treating an ailment. Take the case of heart diseases which are mainly caused by eating fried food and sedentary lifestyle but if government comes up with policies which promote healthy lifestyle like imposition of more taxes on junk food and less taxes on bicycles, sports goods etc., it will help in tackling this issue.

Thus, to conclude, I would say that it's the need of the hour that the government comes up with polices which help to avert health diseases and hence developing an overall strong, healthy and a prosperous nation.