In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are certain individuals who hold the view that the ruling administration should limit the emoluments of the people and put an end to the exorbitant wages withdrawn by them, while the others oppose it and consider it a regressive idea which will hamper country's progress. Both the above views have their own pros and cons which are further elaborated.

If the government forestalls the salaries of the employees after a certain earning limit then it can lead to a major problem of people migrating to other countries where such restrictions are not imposed called brain drain. This can cause a nation to loose a lot of its outstanding citizens which is all in all a great loss to the nation. Not only this, it even deteriorates the motivation of employees to work hard or make an extra effort at work, since they are aware that they won't be paid anything for pushing themselves harder.

On the other hand, the restriction on the maximum amount an individual can earn help in solving the problem of the income gap that exist in the country. For example in India top 1% have 70% of the country's wealth, which shows that the flow of money from top to bottom is marginal and income gap does indeed plays a major role in this. Apart from this, if we look at the current scenario money has become the most prominent thing and everyone is running after that, if there is a limit on the income a person can earn there is a possibility that the people can get involved in other recreational activities, sports etc.

Thus to conclude, it can be seen both the sides does have its own merits and demerits but in my view it is upon every nation to evaluate their circumstances and come up with their own set of rules and regulations as per requirement.