The protection of the environment is one of the most important issues in the world today, but governments are not doing enough about it. To what extent do you think that individuals can help to protect the environment?

The mushrooming of environmental pollution is one of the major problems faced by the mankind in the contemporary world and it is quite true that governments have failed to arrest this trend. In this essay, I will discuss the role of common people to protect the environment.

On the part of individuals, it is their duty to take the preventive measures for the prevention of eco-system. industrialization and technological advancements are few factors, which has led to the damage of the environment. The numerous forests have been cleared as a result of industrialization, resulting the unbalance of ecological system throughout the world. Invention of technology in transportation, for instance, have raised the carbon-footprint in the environment. being a responsible citizen, people can plant more trees to compensate for the industrialization, and could promote the traditional modes of transportation such as Bicycles to lessen the effect on the environment.

On the other hand, role of government could not be neglected in the social cause of preserving the environment. government, being primarily responsible for the well-being of people and natural habitat, could enact laws for the industries, enforcing them to take preventive measures to safeguard the environment. Here again individuals can confront the regimes and could highlight the ill effects of several governmental projects, if they fail to play there part responsibly.

In conclusion, it is reiterated that if people are aware about the safeguarding of environment, appropriate measure could be taken and even governments could be forced to think responsible towards this issue.