In recent society, more and more people are trying to live by their own. Is this a positive or a negative trend? What is your opinion and share your personal experiences?

Nowadays, the trend of living alone is increasing especially; people living in metropolitan cities are bound to stay alone. The rate is far higher in developed countries as compared to developing countries and it seems quite normal for people living there. In my opinion, this trend has far more negative consequences than positive ones.

Admittedly, it is prevalent that people in the current generation like to live alone, without anyone’s interference. it gives them a sense of freedom to do whatever they want to do without any directions from their parents. Furthermore, it makes them self-dependent and more responsible for their day-to-day life. A single person family has to do household chores also and forces them to work as well to pay their utility bills, cleaning, cooking, planning of future savings, purchasing daily commodities and many more important skills. For instance, people living far away from their families for their tertiary degrees learn more skills are more responsible as compared to people who stay with their families.

From the opposite point of view, the trend of single person family has several negative effects. The increasing trend of living alone has a direct impact on the mental wellbeing of a person. Several psychological problems are directly associated with it. living alone only creates loneliness and depression unlike people living with family have many people to talk and someone to share their distress and sadness. This often leads people to choose a lifestyle that is often negative. In a recent survey, single person family members often rely on drugs and many of them addicted. Man is a social animal and living alone is against their natural tendency.

To conclude, living alone has its own pros and cons. it could lead to more freedom and fewer worries as one has to deal with less number of people. it could also lead to weak ties with the family and independently dealing with the problems.