In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping

IS it a positive or negative development?

Cetainly, large shopping centres or malls lure customers and as a repurcussion of this notion detrimental effects are seen on existance small local shops which arouses a question about tendancy of this developmemt. In this essay, I shall unfold the multiple reasons stating the merits of this change.

To begin with, large shopping centres provide a plethora of outlets under one roof so that customers can compair the product and choose wisely without any travelling. In addition, air conditioning system , comfortable sitting area and myriad food outlets provide are necessary comfort and relaxation to customers which boosts their satisfaction. To illustrate, survey conducted at 'Viviana mall' has shown that customer satisfaction is highest in malls as they got the chance to browse the items among different brands and choose the best for themselves in terms of quality and price which was not possible while shopping at local markets. Thus, mall culture enhances overall experience of shopping.

Secondly, huge shopping centres opens the ocean of opportunity for local people at different stages of construction and maintainace. It only gives employement to skilled workers as manager of stores or hotels but also offers wedges to menial workers who performs cleaning and other roles in malls. The report of Times shows that, there is a eminent improvement in lifestyle of mediocre people who rely on jobs at malls due to higher remuneration offered to them as compaired to similar jobs which they used to do in local shops. Considering this fact, it can be said that mall culture has improved overall lifestyle of people.

Although large shopping centers promotes foreign brands and junk food as compared to local shops people are wise enough to choose the options which suit for their culture and healths. It is indeed true that, small shops are primary hub for local artist to broadcast their work. However, nowadays some malls have a separate section dedicated to local art and handmade products which gives a great platform to local artist to showcase their work in front of wide audience. In addition, they can sell their product at inflated rates to gain more profit which was not possible earlier in local markets.

In light of above, mall culture has brought significant improvements in lives of local people. It is indebatible that this notion will flourish in the future.