The responsibility to prevent and reduce global environmental damage is for politicians rather than individuals. How far do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that the burden of stopping and decreasing the damage of worldwide environment rely on politicians more than ordinary persons. I totally disagree with this statement and shall point out the factors that show that preventing global environmental damage is a common responsibility for the whole society.

Firstly, the effect of the whole world environmental damage will be on all mankind and not just politicians. To elaborate on this, a natural disaster that may occur as a result of human being’s actions to the environment will not destroy homes, properties or even take lives of the politicians’ segment only , but it will overrun the whole population residing in the location where this natural disaster occur. For example, the tsunami in Malaysia few years ago, a total of 4000 persons were reported dead because of the tsunami that occurred as a result of global warming caused originally by mankind. Furthermore, despite the fact that politicians must be held responsible for their actions towards this critical global issue and have to answer to the whole society, all other segments hold the same share of responsibility. As individuals we have a responsibility towards our children and the next generations.

Secondly, practical actions to face the global environmental damage require cooperation among all society segments and not just politicians. To illustrate, although politicians can introduce laws to limit mankind damage to the environment, without the cooperation of the people themselves to follow these rules and the awareness of the consequences if not followed, nothing will be accomplished. For instance, if politicians, through government, imposed a ‘green taxes’ on drivers but people neglected the law and paid the taxes instead of trying to switch to other sources of power, the problem will increase.

To conclude, global environmental damage is a serious issue that should concern all mankind and not just politicians and all individuals in the society must work out together to face this problem.