Education plays a pivotal role in shaping up the characters of children as well as prepare them to survive in this modern world. Some intellectuals suggest that school curriculum should eliminate the subjects based on soft skills such as art and music, so that, students should be trained more to cope up with ever- evolving technological advancements in today's world. However, I do feel that it would not be justifiable in any way.

It is commonly said that music and art are the food of the soul, then, how can we imagine educational institutions eliminating these subjects? No doubt, students should be equipped well with the knowledge of technology, but learning of these basic subjects should not be undervalued. By learning about art and music, children do develop a creative instinct and it helps them to express their thoughts and feelings in a better way.

Moreover, music can enhance their artistic skills and majority of the children love to learn about art. They should not be deprived of such beautiful learning experience. Engaging a child into studying about art would make him or her more sensitive, creative and a balanced person. If they are encouraged to develop love for art in their early age, they would be abler to cope with the complicated learning of subjects based on programming and conceptual learning.

On the other hand, some have the opinion that, nowadays, in this era of cut- throat competition, children should be encouraged to study only science and technology based subjects which will assist them to have promising careers in the future. Art does not hold much value in this fast-paced world.

In the end, though, the significance of technology based subjects cannot be ignored, I still advocate my perception that learning of art and music also contribute to shape up the children to become better human beings.