Safety standards are important when building people's homes. Who should be responsible for enforcing strict building codes- the government or the people who build the home?

Home is the symbol of secure and safe place for any human being. It is critical that a house is built with safety standards. This essay will explain that how the government should be responsible for enforcing strict building codes. Firstly, this essay will mention the roles of government and builders. Secondly, it will explain why and how the government should be responsible.

People spend a huge part of their savings to buy a home, it is obviously expected to be safe and secured. On the first hand, government decides the amount of land to be used for building whereas on other hand, builder or contractor builds house as per the plan which is usually proposed by an architect. The plan decides the structure of the house.

As a builder or a contractor works for profit of an individual or an organisation they work for, so government should intervene in the planning which will make sure that a builder does not compromise with any safety standards for sake of money. For instance, government should clearly describe the rules and regulation to be followed by a builder. It should contain details like: how much open space should be there, how the fire exits should be planned and what should be the contingency plan. If every code is strictly followed then there will be minimal probability of contrary conditions.

To sum up the idea, government working with collaboration with builder will ensure the comfort that people expects from home. In the future, cities will be more planned with these kind of initiatives and will give people the satisfaction of both home and electing the government.