Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some believe this is a good thing while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Medical technology will allow people to live for a century or more. It is argued that living a long life has its benefits, however, others believe there are drawbacks to this. This essay agrees that having a lengthy lifespan is not beneficial to a country's economy.

Clearly, advance in science and technology will enable humans to live a happy life for over ten decades. This means that the elderly ones will be alive to see their children prosper. Also, the joy of seeing your offsprings become parents and grand parents is extraordinary. For example, an aged mother or father would be deliriously happy to be present during the birth of a great grand child. Nevertheless, one does not have to live beyond a certain age to be joyful. For this reason, i disagree with this viewpoint.

On the other hand, longevity of life would have a drastic effect on a nation's economy. The retirement age in most countries is sixty five and it is the government responsibility to care for these people once they retire. With modern science leading to increase in people's lifespan, the number of dependents will rise enormously. To illustrate this, a recent research shows that the figure of older citizens is taking up half of the country's annual budget.

In conclusion, the success in medical research will, in a few years, result in humans living for centuries. While this will bring about uncountable joy to the old, the nation's finances will suffer the impact of this development.