Shopping is becoming more and more popular however some people feel this has both positive and negative effect

Why is shopping so popular

What are the positive and negative effect of the increased popularity of shopping

Shopping, as a free-time activity, is increasingly becoming popular likely due to peer pressure among people, and consequently, it is paying off with a booming economy. The economic growth is often cherished as a vast achievement for both people and the public, but there is also a downside which will be taken into account.

One primary cause of the rising popularity of shopping as a leisure activity is intense competition among people as they mostly do not like to be left out. In other words, many individuals may not have the intention of purchasing items, but because their families, friends and, perhaps, colleagues bought them, they also go shopping for similar materials, which satisfies their competitive urge. As a result, shopping is gradually and steadily becoming a habit of majority of the people, and hence, it is continually growing in popularity.

Although this development seems to be unintentional, it is positively affecting the people and the society in general. As more and more people are being enticed to patronize businesses and acquire varieties of items, ranging from wears to electronic gadgets, there tend to be a non-stop flow of transaction and money in the nation. Not only, therefore, are people getting employed by fast-rising business owners, but also is the community experiencing financial buoyancy, which is a good value to the economy.

However, the ascending popularity of shopping is sometimes detrimental to individuals and the public. The constant demand for people to purchase items at stores often result in spending intensively even as they are facing credit crunch. So, savings culture of many people is diminishing and they are now taking more personal loans from financial institutions, which is posing financial risks to not only the people but also the society.

In conclusion, shopping is growing due to influence among many individuals, and it is favouring the people and the public. It is, however, causing financial strain for them as they are being pressurised to keep spending money when most of them are not financially viable.