In this day and age, shopping has become the first choice for many young people to spend their spare time. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainty to this situation and its implication for the future. In this essay I will exam the causes and seek for possible solutions.

As to the reasons, there is no doubt that the advances in technology have made the shopping process become easier than ever before, comparing to past where people had to drive to the physical stores to purchase products, young customers nowadays can easily browse and buy goods at the touch of a button by using their mobile phones or laptops. In addition, the modern materialism culture has convinced young citizens that owning more products can make them happier; therefore they choose shopping as a mean to pursue happiness.

However, this trend is not conducive to form right values or gain valuable skills for them, thus they are well advised to participate in other events. To illustrate, schools should encourage their students to do volunteer works in the local community, thereby gaining a sense of achievement, which is an imperative part of feeling satisfied. Also, by doing such works young adults are given chances to acquire and practice their communication skills and problem-solving skills, which are beneficial for them to become a responsible member of the society in the future.

To sum up, not only the new shopping method but also the current social ideology that makes youths enjoy shopping more than other activities. At the same time, however they must be motivated to engage in other events in order to cultivate a sound value system and reach their potential.