Successful companies use advertisement to make more sales. What can make an advertisement very effective? Do you think this is a bad thing or a good thing for the society?

Advertisement plays an important role in gaining profits for many corporations, and there are several reasons can explain why advertising can have such strong influences on the society. However, for my point of view, the proliferation of ads will eventually bring more negative effects to people as well as to the environment.

To begin with, there are two main strategies that are widely used in successful advertisements, and the first one is engaging celebrity in the TV commercials, as companies are aware about the fact that audiences, especially the younger ones, will purchase the product just to show their support or admiration for their idols. Additionally, target marketing, a strategy that showing ads to selected groups of consumers also helps make the advertisement more influential, and such method is often used for make-up and automobile industries.

It is true that advertising is advantageous to the business world; however, it creates numerous undesired impacts on the society. First of all, it harms people’s well being, as modern people are convinced by the advertisement that only following the new trend can make them more attractive, therefore people who are unable to afford the latest products start to lose their self-confidence. Furthermore, printed advertisements as well as large billboards also contribute to the environmental problems, as they cost a huge amount of materials to make, but soon become useless after the sales seasons.

In conclusion, business strategies applied in ads, such as using figures of famous people in the advertisements, and targeting products to a specific group, can definitely boost the sales for enterprises; nevertheless, advertisements can negatively affect people’s mental healthy and the eco-system, therefore I agree that the popularity of advertisement is a harmful development.