Some people say that children should be disciplined in their early age, and punishment should be used. To some extent do you agree?

It is believed by some that an early age discipline including punishment is necessary for children. I only partly agree with this statement. To my mind, it is crucial for young boys and girls to learn social norm at an early age, but they should not be punished for bad behavior.

To begin with, learning a proper behavior pattern when they are young is beneficial to children’s future development. It has been proven that there is a direct link

between early childhood experience and social behavior code in adulthood. For example, if a child is told to be polite to his classmates when he is young, it is very likely for this child to become a gentle person who is more socially acceptable in the future. However, without a proper guide, the chance for a child to become a rule and unwelcome society member will be higher. Therefore, children should be well- disciplined when they are young in order to become more welcome in real society.

On the other hand, punishment will only have adverse effects on educating young children, as most means of punishment are not educational but just violence. It is true that a child might behave better after certain punishment, but it is not because this punishment passes the correct value to them, it is only because they are afraid that this physical or mental suffering will be made to them again. However, once the punishment mechanism is gone, this child will be very like to break rules or act inappropriately again. Thus, punishment is not an effective way to educate young children and should be abandoned.

In conclusion, an early discipline is an indispensable element in children’s lives, as it helps them to become a proper citizen in the future. However, punishment should be avoided because it does not have any educational function.