At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of old people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, the world population has been rapidly growing, and in some nations, the number of young adults has significantly surpassed the number of older ones. In my opinion, this development will bring more positive consequences than negative outcomes.

It is true that governments have to spend additional efforts to support the prompt growth of young generations. Facilities, such as tertiary institutions and sport centers, need to be quickly established in a short time period to meet young citizens’ need, and those constructions require a large demand in finance. In addition, excessive young workforce means a tougher competition in the employment. As a result, some young people will face the menace of failing to find a job in the future, which will harm their life quality and self-confidence.

On the other hand, the expansion of young population also offers multiple benefits to the society. First of all, it can increase a country’s chance of wining a worldwide sports game, as it is widely known that the most competitive sports players always come from the younger ones. Also, having more young individuals also can enhance a nation’s defense capability, since the country will always have enough people to serve in the army. Furthermore, a region’s domestic economy will also be boosted, if this nation have sufficient and productive workforce to meet its labor market.

In conclusion, although the growing trend of young population will add extra financial burden on the governments, yet it will also make it more difficult for individuals to find a position in the job market. However, this tendency is instrumental in improving a nation’s reputation, safety and economy situation. Therefore, the upsides of this development overshadow its downsides.