Some people think the modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have contentious views on whether modern technology has been making people more or less sociable. Both schools of thought will be discussed in this essay, followed by my own point of view.

Advocates who believe that people are becoming more active in society due to technical innovations may have following reasons. First of all, inventions such as computers and Internet have been enabling people to make friends without geographical limitations. For example, it is the online platform that provided me the opportunity to get to know people from different countries, which enlarge my social network.. Secondly, modern technical devices such as cell phones have been increasing the interactions with other people. Compared with our ancestors people nowadays interact with others far more frequently.

On the other hand, people who claim that modern technology is make people losing sociability also have their justifications. Firstly, cutting-edge technology has been adversely affecting people’s connections in real life. It has been proven that more and more people, especially younger generations, are prone to participate in virtual world rather than forming relationships with people in society. What is more, modern technology is also making people less motivated to make deep connections with others. It is because using portable devices is more efficiently than having a face-to-face meeting. However, online chatting is not sensory as interpersonal communication, and therefore it is hard to form a strong and deep connection between people.

From my understanding, modern technology is a double-edged sword. Undoubtedly, it has been significantly expanding our life circle. However it is also making people lose their desires of connecting with others profoundly.