Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, it is believed by many that the proliferation of online communities has caused severe personal problems as well as societal issues. From my perspective I completely agree that this tendency is harmful to both of them. In this essay, I will use examples from individual people and the public to explain my point of view.

To begin with, socializing online harms people’s well-being, as emotions and feelings cannot be directly translated by typing words on social media; therefore people who frequently use online social websites often feel lonely and isolated. In addition, this development also hurts family bond, because family members are prone to spend more time on online activities rather than communicating with their families in person. Moreover, online social platforms pose a threat to people’s privacy, for example, illegal hackers could take advantage of the bugs in social websites to steal netizens’ personal information.

On the other hand, social stability is under the threat of social websites, as individuals are free to post any kind of contents and false news and misleading information can result in social unrest. Also, the online society has caused the decline in some traditional industries such as newspaper and magazines businesses, which adversely affects the economic growth. Furthermore, it also put extra financial burden on the authority, as the government has to allocate extra funds to establish an Internet regulation department to keep cyber communities healthy.

To sum up, due to the problems in relation to well-being and privacy of people and the uncertainties in future society development, I concur that social networking sites have had tremendous detrimental effects on both individual citizens and society as a whole.