Many countries thought that children have to do homework in their free time.

To What Extent Do you agree or disagree.

In modern society, education plays a pivotal role in a person’s self-development, and it is wildly believed in many nations that young students should spend their spare time on doing homework. I completely disagree with this statement.

Multiple detrimental impacts can be brought into life if children’s leisure time is sacrificed for their schoolwork. First of all, the relationship with their parents will be negatively affected due to the lack of family time, as a strong family bond requires spending time with family members, such as have conversation after dinner and go to a park during the weekends. Furthermore, additional schoolwork also puts extra mental stress on students, which lowers their study efficiency and reduces their sense of well bing. In the long-term, it will hinder students from making progress in improving their academic performance.

On the other hand, students can gain various benefits if they participate in other meaningful events rather than just finishing homework in their free time. For example, children can use their spare time to acquire computer skills, because children who build early confidence and experience in these abilities are at a distinct advantage over those who have not. Also, children can be encouraged to join hobby groups after school, as such activity can widen their horizons as well as help them reach their potential, therefore they can become more competitive in the future fierce competition.

In conclusion, doing homework in the free time will hurt students’ family connections and the quality of their homework. However, students can become more versatile and sophisticated if given opportunities to take part in other activities during their free time. Thus, I disagree that children have to do homework in their free time.