Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples.

Currently, keeping pets has become a prevalent phenomenon world widely, and it is believed by some that children can benefit from having animals around them; however, others argue that pets can be threating to both children’s safety and health. In this essay, I will discuss both schools of thought and provide my point of view at the end of this essay.

The advocators believe that keeping pets in the family can help children foster a sense of responsibility, because they will be asked to take care of the animals, which will help them understand the fact that their actions can effects other lives. In addition, having pets is beneficial to children’s mental health, because animals can provide children a good company and make them feel less lonely while their parents are gone. It is true that in modern society most parents spend a lot of time on their career and often leave their children alone at home.

On the other hand, the opponents assert that keeping animals at home can put children in danger, as the news has reported couple incidents about the pets attacking their owners, and the younger generations are even more vulnerable to animal attacks as they are physically weaker. Moreover, it is possible for humans, especially younger ones who are still developing their immune system, to catch an illness from animals, and the longer time people spend with the pets, the higher chance of catching a disease from the animals.

In conclusion, it is true that pets sometimes can be violent and unhealthy, but an animal training school can provide the pets with behavior training programs and vaccination to protect their owners. Furthermore, children who own pets are more likely to be accountable and have more good time when they are alone. Therefore, I am convinced that children should be encouraged to own pets.