Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reading books and watching TV are two popular entertainment activities for people to enjoy during their leisure time. It is argued by some that book readers are more likely to acquire better creation skills and have a higher level of literacy compared to TV audiences. I completely agree with this statement.

To begin with, it is true that watching TV news and documentaries can widen citizens’ horizons. However, such programs do not leave people chances to make up their own minds of the content from the shows, as TV audiences are passively receiving the pictures and sounds while they are watching TV. On the other hand, reading text information enable readers to proactively image their own version of the characters’ appearance and voice in the book. Therefore, it is beneficial to sharpen their creative thinking skills.

In addition, watching TV does not require advanced language skills, because most TV shows are designed to amuse the audiences and the vocabularies and sentence patterns used in TV shows are rudimentary. Therefore, for a person who wishes to advance his literacy level, reading books is a better choice, as book readers can not only practice their spelling skills, but also learn a more former expression of a language, thereby becoming more sophisticated in using that language.

In conclusion, most of the TV programs are easy to understand and people are not given chances of to use their imaginations during the TV watching process. In contrast, books are more informative and leave readers the room of freethinking. Hence, I consent that people will be more creative and literate if they read more books.