Should companies which cause pollution be taxed.?

Industrial Pollution has increased all over the world, some people believe that taxing companies, which cause it, is the best way to reduce industrial pollution while some suggest that there are several other ways to solve this trouble. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Some individuals are of the opinion that industries, which cause pollution should be taxed heavily so as to reduce

pollution, whereas others opine that pollution should be controlled by other means. This essay intends to discuss

both perspectives. I, however, side with the latter view.

Those who are in favor of taxing companies say so because it is these companies, which cause pollution and they

should pay for cleaning it up. The ordinary people should not have to pay for it through taxes. Obviously, if the government pays for it, it would be through the common man’s pocket.

On the other hand, other methods to deal with the situation would be better. This is because it would be very

difficult to judge which industries are causing how much pollution. They would all shrug off their shoulders and

that would make matters worse. Secondly, these companies would claim that they are already paying a lot of

taxes and so it becomes the governments’ responsibility.

Other methods should be used to tackle this problem. To begin with, the government can make it mandatory for

these industries to set up effluent-treatment plants. The government can also give them subsidies for such projects.

This would ensure that these effluents don’t contaminate the underground water. These industries should also

be encouraged for tree plantation. They should have green belt all around them so that the trees absorb all the

carbon dioxide liberated.

To conclude, taxing the industries would not work as a good solution for reducing pollution and other methods

should be looked into.