Should old people live with the family or separately with same aged people?

Living with family members, separately or in old-age-home is a debatable topic. Although, scenario is fairly subjective and differ from family to family depending on the culture and suitability, I, however, believe that elders should live with their descendants.

Firstly, senior citizens need constant care and emotional support which is impossible to get in old-age-home. Although, decent centers are available, which promise to provide excellent healthcare, still this might not be feasible as these are expensive and one cannot completely rely on their services. Additionally, elders feel alone in those centers which leads to anxiety and depression. This has been supported by the survey performed by department of Social Sciences in University of New York, which says that 87% of people in these institutions face depression.

Secondly, parents and grandparents have a life time of experience which they use to guide their children in every phase of life. This not only help younger to tackle difficulties by taking appropriate steps but also assist them to live a prosperous life by making wise choices such as choosing a career path or selection of life partner. Also, parents help in the up-bringing of their grandchildren by moral support and valuable lessons. To illustrate, Asia Life Magazine has demonstrated the effect of presence of grandparents as positive in their recent article as people influenced by elders were found to have a better understanding of life.

In conclusion, I opine that combine family system not only help elders by availability of care from off-springs but also children by wise direction from experience.