Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain demographics of society believe that beating-up their children is the best way of keeping them disciplined. These people claim that smacking their offsprings will result in getting better control over them. This essay will argue why physically punishing children is completely unacceptable. On the one hand, some parents argue that by spanking their juveniles, they can teach them to behave in a positive manner. They think that this is the only way to tackle their tantrums. They are justifiably worried about their children's future and behavior, which encourages them to use the traditional method of upbringing by smacking them. According to a survey in 2012, more than 70% of American's agreed that it is sometimes necessary to discipline a child with a good, hard spanking. These perceptions of parents bolstered the inappropriate way of raising their children by flogging them.

However, I would argue that spanking children in order to teach them manners is not an appropriate way. Children spanked frequently and severely are at a higher risk for mental problems, ranging from anxiety and depression to alcohol and drug abuse. Furthermore, children whose parents hit them regularly may also develop more distant parent-child relationships later on. There is also robust evidence of an increased incidence of aggression among children who are regularly spanked. Overall, the idea of physically abusing children could potentially lead to a far worse outcome.

In conclusion, this essay argued that parents who smack their children have a flawed understanding of their child's upbringing. In my opinion, I completely disagree with physical violence on children to make them disciplined, love and affection help them to grow and become a better version of themselves.