Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems people should be encouraged to live in cities rather than in suburbs or in the countryside.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some individuals are of the opinion that issues related to traffic and means of commuting can be tackled through relocation of residents from the countryside to towns. In this essay, I will clarify why I disagree with this trend.

Moving to cities can have detrimental effects with regards to traffic. This is because the more the people reside in cities, the greater the liability for traffic jams will be. For instance, a research, which was conducted by a team of statisticians in Berlin in 2006, revealed that the prevalence of traffic congestions almost doubled following the migration of refugees from the suburbs, and their resettlement in Berlin. Therefore, when cities become more condensed with people, traffic tends to be more problematic. In brief, the trend of relocation of citizens from the countryside to towns can be disastrous in terms of traffic escalation.

In addition, if more people are motivated to live in cities, transportation problems will mount up; owing to the fact that more vacancies, in public transport, will be required to accommodate the newcomers. Consequently, the number of waiting queues will rise and means of transport will become more crowded, hence rendering problems of commuting more intensified. For this reason, encouraging people to reside in cities is vastly disadvantageous for traffic in general and public transport in particular.

To conclude, although some people agree that relocation of residents to cities is an appropriate way to resolve traffic problems, I would argue that transportation issues cannot be mitigated completely by this solution.