In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

In many nations, the majority of people choose to live in rented accommodations instead of buying them. It is advantageous to rent a home as this did not require a huge investment and sounds economical in the short term, and sometimes it has a downside effect as well.

The predominant advantage of renting a home is it does not involve a huge amount of money. In other words, rented accommodation comes at a very lesser price and does not impact an individual financially in the short term. Moreover, this enables an individual to save money for other purposes. In 2011, research has been carried by the Government of Canada and found that people who are residing in rented houses are saving money in a better way. Therefore, renting a home is beneficial as it does put a strain on money on an immediate basis.

As renting home provide an advantage to an individual to be economically strong in the short term it has the disadvantage of losing money regularly in the long run. This can be explained as when an individual rents a home and monthly rent does not contribute to the creation of any asset, and therefore, the amount of money gets wasted in the long run. A recent survey carried out by Bank of India has come up with statistical figures that individuals who rented a home for a long period generally comes in debt in the later stage of their life. Hence, renting a house for a longer period of time effect financially to an individual.

In conclusion, renting a house bring a lot of advantages and disadvantages depending on individual preferences and personality. As it is fruitful to an individual in the short term but affects negatively in the long run.