Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking poses a great danger to humans. Smoking not only causes harm to the person who smokes but also to the person who stands or seats nearby them. Some have therefore suggested banning the use of smoking in public places. This essay will discuss why I completely agree that a ban is the best way to curb the damages caused by smoking.

The main reason why smoking ought to be forbidden from public places is that they are causing major health issues. People who smoke cigarettes regularly can end up having lung cancer which can result in death. Also, inhaling cigarette smoke passively has been shown in many studies to cause cancers in the lungs of those who are in the same room or outdoor space as people smoking. For instances, most researches show that a large portion of lung cancer patients has been a regular smoker or passive smoker. Furthermore, Smoking can cause heart attacks to both smokers and non-smokers that can negatively impact our health. Since smoking is a major factor for health diseases, banning it would be a step in the right direction at least.

A secondary reason is that banning smoking can help us reducing environmental pollution. Cigarette ashes are not easily bio-degradable, and they can pollute the air, soil, and waterways. To protect the environment, many countries have introduced fines for smokers who smoke in public places. As a result, it is discouraging them to smoke outside which can protect the environment from getting polluted by the harmful toxins of cigarettes.

In conclusion, this essay discussed both the health and environmental impacts of a ban on smoking in public places. Banning it can protect the health of passive smokers as well as the environment. In my opinion, this simple step can have far-reaching consequences and the sooner more countries adopt the policy, the better.