Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Cigarettes are unhealthy to smokers and to other surrenders. That's why this habit better be restricted in non private areas. I totally agree with the statement. If we take an active position, I believe that one day the human population will get rid of smoking forever.

In my opinion the entertainment like Hollywood films and advertising of tobacco companies create a strong image of macho and legitimate smoking among people. Fortunately these days are over. Today our awareness has risen and we build a healthier lifestyle. Many countries already banned smoking in public places because of health issues. So I hope the enlightenment of the damage that is caused by smoking will soon spread all over the word and it will be banned.

However we could not just ban smoking. We should encourage people to support new rules we should help, especially to smokers to smoke less and to quit. For instance, with the spread of anti smoking social advertising people will understand and follow new rules instead of dismissing them. Because the whole point in this issue is to reach and change people’s minds.

In conclusion, me and all health evidence and researches are against smoking in public. But to make a new rule more efficient we should reteach current smokers and to teach a younger generation about benefits that they could have in smoking free public places. In addition, destroy the cool image of a smoker and create a cool image of a non smoker.