Some believe children should not be allowed to go outside without adult supervision post curfew time. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Over the years, the world has become a much safer place, at least in terms of crimes. With a myriad of security cameras and police service, the people with malign intentions have been brought down. While the crime rates such as thievery, murder, and looting have gone down, it is still not completely eradicated. However, restraining kids against their wishes is conservative in nature and can prove futile in many aspects.

Firstly, young people must be encouraged to become self-reliant and mature at a very early age. The greatest people known to humankind such as Albert Einstein, Abraham Lincoln, travelled long distances on foot when they were young. Being dependent on parents for everything, may not fall in line with desired leadership capabilities. To achieve greater good, one must be allowed to work on their own. In 21st century, with sophisticated technology and secure protocols in place, it is much safer to travel outside during late evening.

Secondly, sometimes students may need to visit their friends to work on a project. Adults must ensure proper instructions are given to their offsprings to take care of themselves. Merely denying the right and opposing their requests can be disastrous. Monitoring a person all the while and taking away their freedom, would only force them to leave and lead a separate life. Hence, timings to go outside must be made more flexible with proper precautions.

To summarise, an extent of easiness in norms must be provided to allow youngsters roam out of home at night. If handled properly, the negative aspects of the situation can be brought under control. As we advance more into the modern world, letting people act on their own can prove to be more beneficial.