In some countries, advertisers increase the amount of advertising which tries to persuade children to buy snacks, toys and other goods. Parents object to such pressure on children. But some advertisers claim that there is useful information in these advertisements. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that children are influenced by the adverts they see on social media, while others hold the view that these advertisements can be a source of knowledge for the young generation. Although important aspects of those adverts are undoubted, I believe that they have negative impacts on children.

Proponents contend that children, who got easily swayed away by the misleading adverts, have been becoming vulnerable as they are targets of marketing strategies. As a result, youngsters pester their parents to buy more goods, which makes them a part of the throw-away society. For example, Chocos, a cereal selling company, was able to increase its turnover only by telecasting attractive advertisements on kids channels like Disney after facing revenue losses in 2015. Therefore, advertisements aimed at children should be limited as they are making child materialistic.

However, people in favour of advertisements argue that adverts help to increase the children's awareness about different topics and through the medium of educational adverts, they can learn something new. For example, Vinamilk advertised its milk on the television by linking its products with Vietnamese rich culture, and this advert received a huge appreciation from parents and the society as it portrayed their country's culture as a way of promoting their product. Moreover, there are some adverts also help the small child to inculcate good habits in themselves like the advert of Colgate toothpaste, which motivates children to brush their teeth twice a day.

In conclusion, adverts do more harm to the children than good by manipulating them to buy more goods, and, thus, those should be banned by the government.