The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many people think the media should spend more time on good news is questionable. I agree with this argument, although I believe bad news has its advantages.

On the one hand, I think it is necessary to broadcast bad news, as this helps people to raise their awareness on natural disasters. Taking news of Covid-19 as an example. If the announcement of Coronavirus were not shown on TV, the number of tolls had to be more dramatic than the real number because people had no ideas about the existence of the virus. They might get sick without symptoms and then transit viruses to others when going out. Moreover, when the national TV channels tell us sad news relating the pandemic, such as the desperation of workers due to mass layoffs as a result of restrictions on recreation places, audience may feel stressful, but they are also reminded about the severe impacts of Covid-19 widespread. Thanks for that, they will comply with rules of social distancing and mask wearing as the government recommended.

On the other hand, I would argue that good news need to be shown more to help the audience to keep positive emotions and avoid negative actions when dealing with disasters. First, besides death numbers of Covid-19, the media can also make interviews about doctors who often work overtime in hazardous conditions to save millions of lives. By watching these interviews, audience would feel grateful for the sacrifice of doctors and have more believes on human. Second, the media should avoid unnecessary bad news to prevent causing panics for people. For example, if people think the lockdown due to Coronavirus causes a lack of food, they may get in line to buy as much food as they can, which spreads more virus in community.

In conclusion, I believe that bad news on the media is needed to inform us what are happening around the world. However, I would say that the media should focus more on good news because of its advantages.