People think that countries should produce the food their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that it is necessary for governments to encourage the development of staple foods production and reduce buying food from other countries. This essay will clarify why this idea is true.

On the one hand, countries should intensively produce staple foods to feed their citizens and provide for exporting activities. First, a significant amount of traditional foods, such as rice or wheat, will ensure that all citizens can access them all year around without finding alternatives. For example, assuming that this year, the weather conditions in Vietnam are hash and inconvenient to farming, Vietnamese people still have enough rice to cook and do not need to eat potatoes or yam alternatively. Second, mass produce of staple foods will bring more international monetary for a country as the country use the excessive amount of the food production for exporting. This fact is so true to Vietnam as this country often grows a higher amount of rice than needed to sell to other countries after feeding well its population.

On the other hand, limiting buying foods from international sources is a good idea to support the national agriculture and avoid the disease outbreak. If the government of countries accept a very small amount of foods imported from foreign places, local people will focus on shopping from local sources because they have not many choices. As a result, local farmers are motivated to find effective cultivating methods in order to produce foods with the best quality. Moreover, less transporting foods over the borders also contributes to reduce the virus transmission. This lesson can be learnt from the fact that experts in an isolated area like North Pole got infected Coronavirus, which was transferred through the food delivery from external places.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the idea of that the governments of countries should focus more on producing traditional foods and reduce the imported amount.