In some countries employees are generally given two weeks of paid vacation time each year. In other countries employers are given four or six weeks of paid vacation time.

Considering the need of both employee and employer, what do you think is a reasonable amount of paid vacation time for employees to have? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Most of the countries have labour law and employers abide by the law that protects employee’s right. One of the rights that employees have is taking paid vacation during a year. While some countries secure four or six weeks of paid vacation time, I strongly think that 2 weeks of paid vacation would be enough for the employees in terms of productivity and expense.

First of all, longer than two week of paid vacation would have negative effect on productivity in workplace. If one leaves for vacation, the other workers should spare the workforce during the vacation. It would be even harder for the others to work things out when one employee takes too much time on vacation. In my case, I had a colleague in daycare who took 4 weeks of long vacation during the summer. The other employees including me had a hard time managing the classroom and taking care of children during the time even though we had a supply educator from outside. In this sense, it would be better to limit the paid vacation only for two weeks.

Secondly, the essential of business is making money. It is going to be huge burdens for employers to financially manage every employee’s longer paid vacation. For example, Daily Harold Korea once published an article that a company called bankrupt and one of its main reasons was spending tremendous budget on benefits for employees. If a worker needs more than two weeks of vacation, one can choose not to get paid once it goes over the paid period guaranteed by employers. Thus, giving two weeks paid vacation can save lots of money for business which focus on making profits.

In conclusion, employers follow the labour law that guarantees paid vacation for their employees. This essay discussed why short term of paid vacation has advantages over the long paid vacation. Giving two weeks paid vacation would be beneficial to both employees and employers.