Some countries encourage teenagers to have part-time job and see it as a good thing, while others disagree. Give your opinion and explain both views.

Some people argue that youngsters should work on a temporary shift basis, while others do not consider this as a good practice. Although part-time work has a lot of benefits, this essay believes that adolescents should not work until they get adults.

On the one hand, part-time work for youngsters can help them be responsible at an early age. Paid work will make them realize how the money is earned which will make them more responsible towards their parents and society. For example, at a young age a child asks unlimited things from his parents without knowing the financial constraints, however, when a youngster starts earning and spending on himself, he/she will realize the value of spending money prudently which will make him more responsible. However, despite the above argument, I believe youngster should not be given an opportunity to work as it may lead to other consequences which are discussed in the next paragraph.

On the other hand, a child may get involve himself in bad deeds by working outside at an early age. Children at an early age need a lot of supervision as they do not know what is right and what is wrong and can get influenced from anyone. Parents will not be able to supervise their children during their work hours and hence, a child can get in a bad company of friends who smoke or take drugs. For example, a research undertaken in ‘University of London’ reported that the drug addicts in UK started taking drugs while they were young and working a part-time job. Hence, I believe youngsters should not be allowed to work until they get mature as this may have a long term effect on their life.

In conclusion, although working at a young age can gain knowledge, skills and responsibility, I believe supervision is necessary for children at a young age as this decides their future and hence, they should not be allowed to work.