Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences.

Some people argue that increasing use of computers in education industry has its favourable results while other believe that it is a negative development. Although, the inclination towards computers can lead to unintended results, this essay believes that use of computers leads to positive development.

On the one hand, computers are not accessible to students everywhere, hence, making it difficult for students to cope up with the lessons learnt in the school. This means that if a school uses computers to deliver lessons in schools and does not give any hard copies to study, it will be difficult for a student to revise those lessons if the student does not have a computer at home. This further specifies that these students can only revise and study at school. Eventually, the student will not be able to score good numbers in exams while those students who can afford to have computers at home can score pass the exams with good numbers. This is more relevant to students coming from remote areas who can hardly afford to pay for the school fees. As a result, the students who cannot afford to buy computers but are talented can be ignored. However, instead of the above drawback of using computers, this essay believes that using computers have more benefits in the education industry.

On the other hand, computers are an effective technology which can increase the productivity of children. First of all, information can easily made available on computers with the search engines like www.google.com, www.yahoo.com etc. This means that students do not have struggle to go to different libraries to locate information and the best possible information can be available in seconds within a few clicks. Secondly, most educational institutions have started to conduct their exams on computers as this results in instant output for students and they can work accordingly on their weak areas and re-attempt the test. For example, ACCA, a global professional accountancy body used to conduct their test via a 3 hours’ exam and delivered in hard copy and results announced in one month after exam. However, recently, they have transformed 9 out of their 14 exams online which means student can get instant result instead of waiting for one month. Given the above explanation, I believe that computers have resulted in increased productivity of students and has many positive developments.

In conclusion, although the increasing use of computers have their drawbacks, I believe that it has led to many positive developments and benefited the students and the educational institutes.