Some people think it is more beneficial to play sports that are played in teams, e.g. football. However, some people think it is more beneficial to play individual sports, e.g. tennis and swimming. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that playing sports which requires a team has a lot of benefits, while other believe that individual sports activities are more advantageous. Although playing sport alone has its own benefits, this essay believes that playing sports in a team has much better results.

On the one hand, playing sport alone keeps you focused and independent. This means that there are no distractions while playing the sport and you can independently start and end the sport at your own pace and convenience. In other words, if you decide to choose a sport which requires a team or partner to be present then you cannot start the sporting activity unless your partner is also ready to get started. In addition to this, you might have your own goals for playing the sport, for example to stay fit and healthy but your partner has joined you just for the sake of doing it, then you may not be able to achieve the desired result and can lose your focus. However, despite the above argument, I believe playing sport in team has more benefits than playing sport alone.

On the other hand, playing in groups makes you a team player which affects not only your sporting abilities but also your social life. Playing in groups requires a lot of coordination with each other and encouragement from team members. For example, in a game like cricket if your team puts up a low score on board, the bowlers are encouraged to bowl well and to defend the score. Even if you lose the match, you appreciate everyone’s effort and shake hands with other team members also. This also develops your sportsman spirit. Accordingly, if individuals face any bad situation in their social life, this spirit of supporting each other learnt from the sport is alive and you support people across the globe. For example, the recent attacks in Syria have encouraged a lot of countries to send their donations to help people. Based on the above argument, I believe sporting in groups helps you to become well- grounded individuals.

In conclusion, although playing sport alone makes you independent and more focused towards your task, I believe that sporting activities in teams has greater benefits to the individual and society.