In some countries it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Vegetarianism has gained enormous popularity among people in some places around the world. In my opinion, the benefits of this trend, such as saving more livestock and more water, outweigh the disadvantages.

A vegetarian diet might seem to be a healthy diet for some people to follow, as people have always thought that eating meat has a dire impact on health. While exaggeration in eating meat may cause some health issues such as Gout, omitting meat from people’s daily diet would lead to serious ramifications. As a pharmacist, I have studied that meat contains the essential amino acids which support the normal growth of nerves and tissues; hence, cutting meat can lead to the deterioration of eyesight for example. Another drawback is that this sort of diet could be costlier than any other diet. As for people to eat diverse meals and not get bored, they need to shop from specific markets which are not predominant in all demographics.

On the other hand, I believe that not only becoming a vegetarian helps in saving animal’s lives but it can also help in saving the environment. People who are leading this lifestyle never eat meat or their products; therefore, they are contributing to decreasing the number of animals being killed for the purpose of eating. After the wide prominence of the vegetarianism, numbers of cattle farms have decreased by 28%, and this is according to a study published by the Times in 2017. In addition, vegetarianism has a significant role in the decline of water consumption; one of the most threatened natural resources on Earth. To illustrate, a ten acres cattle farm consumes ten million cubic centimeters per year, while to grow crops in the same area requires half the amount of water.

To conclude, it seems to me that the merits of a vegetarian diet eclipse the demerits as if the number of vegetarians is increased, more water and animals will be saved.