In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The category of people who prefer to live solely is indeed getting wider than before. While I accept the idea that this trend has its merits in terms of independence, I agree that it also has a negative impact on family unity.

On the one hand, people who choose to follow this trend are mostly targeting to be more independent. To illustrate, living alone allows persons to become more responsible as they more able to plan for every step on their own and gaining their livelihood for instance; consequently, this creates more refined and powerful personalities that could lead to a prominent future. This is a notable positive development that I had witnessed after my sister chose to finish her Pharmacy study in another city; she has become a more mature character and a team leader at her work. As a result, some people would lead a brighter future if they decided to lead an independent life.

On the other hand, although the remarkable merit of choosing this trend, I believe that there might be a significant drawback on family bonding. Owing to the fact that this living arrangement isolates people from their families, it could weaken the relations between family members. For example, people could not be able to take care of their parents if they got sick, moreover, they might miss the family gatherings during some important events such as weddings, and this, by time, can grow a gap among family members. Hence, some people might be risking their relationships with their beloved ones if they chose to separate themselves away from their homes.

To conclude, despite the considerable effect on people’s personalities, it seems to me that it is utmost to pay attention to its possible impact on their humanitarian relationships.