Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all time even on holidays.

Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

It is an irrefutable fact that work pressure is increasing day by day. Many big organizations attempt to connect with their employees regularly during the weekends. In this essay, we will discuss both the pros and cons of this approach before forming an opinion.

To begin with, there is a number of advantages for the employer. This is because they will be able to complete their work before the timelines. As a result, the organization will receive more rewards, bonus and appreciation from their clients which will boost the value of the organization. Moreover, Companies can outperform their rival organizations by achieving targets earlier. For instance, China is a well-known example of this kind of work culture that is the reason they are number one in the rate of manufacturing.

However, on the other hand, there are numerous disadvantages to follow this approach. Firstly, employers will lose their goodwill in front of their employees. Moreover, the employee will never be serious and productive if they have to work in their free times. As a result, they will try to switch their organization to attain a better work-life balance. Therefore, it will impact the company if all the skilled workers want to leave or not serious about their work. To illustrate this, According to the survey conducted by the global work organization people are likely to feel frustrated when they need to work in their family and leisure time. It can also be dangerous to the health of the worker. Furthermore, many developed nations have a rule in which employers have no right to call and email their employees during their vacations.

In conclusion, Although some organizations argue its right to stay in touch with employees on weekends, it will definitely degrade the productivity of the employee. I believe the disadvantages of working off-time outweigh its advantages as it would not be good for both the organization and the worker.