Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should only read serious educational books.

What is your opinion?

It is an undeniable fact that the number of parents considers reading novels, comics, and magazines as a waste of time. They prefer their children should read only academic books. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the above statement. In this essay, I shall put forth my arguments to support my opinion and also discuss why some parents consider reading extra books as a waste of time.

Parents always want their children to score well in academic studies. They think if children spend most of their time reading irrelevant books than it would be hard for them to stay focus on their studies. To illustrate this, according to the survey conducted by the University of Leeds, 7 out of 10 parents in U.K want their children to read only their curriculum books. Moreover, parents want their children to perform better in today's cut-throat competition.

However, I believe parents should not stop children from reading books other than their subjects. This is because reading helps children to enhance their learning abilities and make them independent learners. Moreover, they get a chance to know more about their field of interest which will definitely help them in the future with lucrative opportunities. For instance, according to the research done by the University of America, children those have a habit of reading books are good at decision-making and creative skills.

In conclusion, Despite parents consider entertainment books as a bad choice for the children, it helps with the development and growth of them. In my opinion, parents should allow children to read what they want so that they can grow to their full potential.